World Championship football

The 2022 FIFA World Cup in Qatar is the 22nd edition of a quadrennial tournament between the national countries affiliated to FIFA. View a selection of the World Cup over the years here. 

More images from Qatar

The World Cup Finals

Brazil has become the world football champion most often. The Brazilians won the World Cup five times. Germany and Italy share second place with both having won four World Cups.

Netherlands during the World Cup

The Dutch national team has never managed to achieve first place during the football world cup. The national team reached the World Cup final three times, but lost them in 1974 (against West Germany), 1978 (Argentina) and 2010 (Spain).

Football fraternizes

During football championships in the Netherlands we see a lot of Orange decoration in streets. During football championships we see a lot of Orange decoration in streets in the Netherlands. Pubs are often a meeting place where football fans like to watch matches together. The catering businesses are responding well to this by placing large screens on which the matches can be seen. Also, the football fans are often quite thirsty.

Missed penalties

Taking a penalty kick is always exciting! When it comes to penalties for the Dutch national team, things often go wrong. The team has missed no less than 21 during the world championships, with Memphis Depay leading the way with three missed penalties.

More images
Cookies are necessary for the proper functioning of this website. Click accept to agree or read our cookie policy
No cookies OK


Please wait a moment, your zip file will now be created.

You will receive an e-mail with a link to download the zip file. This process can take a few minutes.

An error has occurred. Your zip file could not be generated.